Studio Projects
Newsletter Archive
Barry Deck

If you've spent a few moments with a Coca-Cola, visiting the MoMA, flipping through a Conde Nast magazine or glancing at MTV, you've probably already spent a moment or two with Barry.

As designer of 20 typeface families, including Template Gothic (called "the typeface of the 90s" by Rick Poynor), Barry has been helping brands find their visual voice since he received his MFA in Visual Communications from the California Institute of the Arts back in 1989.

Since then, he has spent nearly two decades pushing edges and leading creative teams in innovative branding initiatives for global consumer brands and extending visual languages across media and platforms from environments to interactive and TV.

In addition to two years at Ogilvy and Mather's Brand Integration Group (BIG), his clients have included Coca-Cola, MTV Networks, DuPont, SAP, AT&T Wireless, Atlantic Records, Conde Nast Publishing, Sundance Channel, Monsanto, MCI, and MoMA.

His work has been published in numerous books, such as History of Graphic Design by Philip Meggs, as well as periodicals including the New York Times Magazine, Wired, Metropolis, Emigre, and Graphis. He has lectured and taught internationally and his work is in the permanent collection of the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum.

Template Gothic
Template Gothic 


Type Designers  

Emigre licenses its fonts directly from the designers who create them, who often spent years completing the fonts. We ask you to help us support type designers by acquiring proper licenses for the use of these fonts.

Mark Andresen (USA)

Bob Aufuldish (USA)

Jonathan Barnbrook (England)

David Cabianca (Canada)

Rodrigo Cavazos (USA)

Barry Deck (USA)

Eric Donelan (USA)

John Downer (USA)

Xavier Dupré (France)

Elliott Peter Earls (USA)

Edward Fella (USA)

Martin Friedl (Germany)

Sibylle Hagmann (USA)

Berton Hasebe (USA)

Frank Heine (Germany)

John Hersey (USA)

Jeffery Keedy (USA)

Nancy Mazzei and Brian Kelly (USA)

Zuzana Licko (USA)

P. Scott Makela (USA)

Conor Mangat (England)

Miles Newlyn (England)

Claudio Piccinini (Italy)

Christian Schwartz (USA)

Rudy VanderLans (USA)